Posted by: worshipguitarguy | August 5, 2007

An Interview with Guitarist/Producer Daniel Lanois

I was surfing the web tonight and ran across this fascinating interview with Daniel Lanois from Guitar Player Magazine.  Although this article was originally published in 1993, it has some awesome information that’s really timeless, and applies just as much today as it did then.  In case your not familiar with Lanois, he’s an experimental ambient musician, who’s produced for artists such as U2, Bob Dylan, the Neville Brothers, and Peter Gabriel.  (Rumor has it that he and co producer Brian Eno just finished a series of recording sessions in Morocco with U2… sessions that may be part of a new album slated for a late 2008 release.)

Highlights include:

  • Daniel discussing how to achieve creative tones from simple setups
  • Mic placement and choice during recording
  • Use (or non-use) of mixing board EQ in the recording process
  • Making great recordings from low cost gear

U2 Producer & 6-String Wizard Daniel Lanois Says You Don’t Need Big Money To Make Big Music

Responses

  1. This statement killed me..

    “In fact, a lot of Edge’s sounds on Achtung Baby were recorded on this little solid state practice amp we had in the control room instead of the AC30.”

    I’ve gone after Edge’s sound for a few years now only to find I traded the sound away when I got rid of my old practice amp.. lol

  2. Ha Ha Ha, if it makes you feel any better Chris, look at what he still uses live for those songs… 😉

  3. MASSIVE thanks for this super-informative article. I think sometimes you get better tones with a basic set up because there’s simply less room to screw it up!

    I’m seeking some advice – I’m looking at getting a Vox AC15 or AC30. I’ll get the Celestion Blue speakers regardless but I’m wondering if I could get better tone out of the AC15 because I could crank out more gain at a lower volume. Any thoughts?

  4. No problem Jeff, that’s what we’re here for!

    Here’s my .02 on the 15 vs. the 30 debate, so you can take it for what it’s worth. My main amp is a 15, but I’ve also played 30’s. Is there a tone difference? Yes, the 30 can sound a bit more full. Is it easy to notice that difference? In my opinion, no, especially live. When you get into a room with acoustic properties, distinguishing the difference between the two, especially in the band mix is tough to do.

    The big advantage of a 15 too is you can get saturated tones at a lower volume. This is huge for me in a church setting where I’ll play in rooms from 30 to 1500. Plus it weighs a whole lot less.

    Would I like a 30? Absolutely, (Especially if someone has a 67 top boost they want to give to me, *wink* *wink*) But for the price difference and portability I’m completely happy with my 15.

    Thing is, try both of them out, and see what your ears tell you.

  5. Thanks for a wonderful article. There are couple others floating around on Mr. Lanois.

    http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/1994_articles/sep94/daniellanois.html

    http://cara.gsu.edu/courses/MI_3110/lanois.pdf

    Enjoy!

  6. Good stuff Leo, thanks for sharing!

  7. The Fender Prosonic is an all tube Class A or AB Amp with a tube or sold state rectifier (switchable from rear) This is in my opinion, a very versitle – fantastic tone amp. (Two gain stages, with Gain 1 and 2 in the second stage for anything from light distortion to searing lead stuff.)

    For some reason they did not catch on commercially, so they can be bought on Ebay very reasonably for what they have to offer. Fender no longer produces the amp. I own one and I wish I had another.

    They come as a combo, or head. I beleive they are 60 watt amps. I’m not a big spec guy so excuse the lack of info – just check one out, they are wonderful sounding amps.

    PS – I do “Edge” atmospheric stuff all the time with this amp. But then I can go Stevie Ray V at the drop of a hat.

    Gil Delaney
    gilgrethe@aol.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

